Meyersdale Public Library - The History Behind the Meyersdale Public Library

Active Filters:
  • Subject = Entrances

About This Collection

The Meyersdale Public Library dates back to 1938, when the Meyersdale Woman’s Club, under the direction of Frances Livengood Imler, appointed a committee to plan for the establishment of a free community library. This small library opened on May 16, 1939, above the Meyersdale Republican newspaper office. A total of 139 35mm slides detail the library's history, along with the 1984 construction and May 11, 1985, dedication of its current building. The Meyersdale Public Library has digitized these slides, in addition to the seven pages of script containing the captions and talking points for their presentation, delivered on May 30, 1985, to raise awareness of its long-standing importance to the community. Today the library continues to grow, providing vital services to children, families, seniors and the area's Amish population. Especially well known for its collections focusing on the region's history and family genealogies, its Pennsylvania Room annually attracts visitors from across the nation as they seek to utilize these resources.

Displaying 10 items
Filter
Concrete Entrance Finishing
Finishing Library Outdoor Main Entrance
Four Women Pass Meyersdale Public Library Front
Installation of Back Door at Library
Installation of Entrance Light
Installation of Interior Library Entrance
Maple Festival Park Entrance
Meyersdale Community Hospital Building
Meyersdale Masonic Lodge
Meyersdale Senior Center